Breakfast Casserole

 My dad made this for my birthday back in December and it is very delicious.  I found out later that my husband uses the same recipe when he carries breakfast casserole to work.  I also found out that my grandmother used to make this when I was growing up.  My dad actually got it from his boss well over 25 years ago.  It is certainly not low in calories but in my opinion if it was it would not taste as good.

6 slices bread
2 cups milk
1 cup cheddar cheese
1/2 tsp. pepper
6 or 8 eggs beaten
1 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. mustard
1 1/2 to 2 pound sausage
2 Tbsp. butter

Preparation

Trim the crust from the bread and spread butter on each side. Place in casserole dish. In a separate bowl, beat eggs, milk, salt, pepper and mustard well. Cut the sausage in small pieces and brown the sausage. Drain well. Sprinkle sausage over the buttered bread; add cheese. Pour egg mixture over the cheese. Place in refrigerator overnight. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes. Serves 8 to 10.